Your passions should be fuelled by your heart's desire. You are of course, the carpenter of your soul.

So here’s the deal. I’ve signed up for this prestigious, yes prestigious in my eyes, course on African Leadership with the institute and I have come about my first mini activity. Heaven forbid, if this is my reaction to a minuscule activity, dare I even tread forth toward the actual assignments, then the exams. Oh gosh, what have I signed up for? It’s all catching up to me now!  And he’s on my mind too. Get out.

Now where was I? So this institute calls for agents of change, thought leaders, advocates of innovation and progressive logic that may attribute to shake this African continent into the flourishes of fruits we dub of its Renaissance. Wow, what a loaded responsibility Charlie. But yes, with my love and passion (one of the loves and passions that Spock would be so proud of) for Africa and for this Gentleman I could not let this opportunity pass me by. I wish that with all that I can learn, I can be a part of Africa’s rich fruits that can nourish our fellow African landscape. Chessy I know, use it, and don’t use it.

So I’m doing this course….. Here’s the deal. Leadership. Who is my role model, why are they admired as my leader and why would I want to embody those attributes that they possess as a leader? First person that came to mind was the Gentleman. But then because this institute is this Gentleman, it may be seen as just cliché because let’s face it, more people that I now know of share this common love so this Gentleman is out of the equation. So the next leader would be my Dad. Oh no, wait, he’s a totalitarian leader which is not something that Africa should learn from, or could they, Africa knows totalitarianism, let’s not bother her with that again. The only person I can think of while sipping on my third cup of coffee for today is Greg Mortenson.

A leader shall be compassionate and not self-seeking.  Yes,  “charisma, ability to communicate effectively, strong assertive personality” shines in the shadows yet if we are to put Fence, Garden, Gordge, Hanger, Admin, Madala, Guava as great leaders - there has to be more depth than that. Traits of the character, dare I say the Ego. But actually dare I not say the Ego. For it is the ego that is self-seeking and adapts to the norms of a flawed and material culture.  Greg didn’t. For he strived against the very traditions and norms of stringent value systems throughout, for the greater understanding and accepting of the human rights and equality based value system.  Fundamentally, leadership to me does not constitute to who is most popular or well respected or for who easily sails on the wings of change. But then am I saying that Robo would be and possibly is characterised as a leader? Well maybe, anyone who is the liberator from a form of suppression or oppression can be but then when he oppresses and suppresses in his own capacity then what the hell happened to your leader? We all create typical notions and fantasies in our brain of what a leader is. Did anyone say a good leader? Cos last time I checked, you called that infamous blood monger a leader too? In that case the Terminator is a good leader. In fact, Michelangelo, that ninja turtle too! Ooooh ninja!! Let me for a moment pause and contemplate the Ninja warrior as a leader. Aaaaaand I’m done.

So, Greg. I first came across Greg at the Boardwalk in P.E in 2010 waiting for my day to pass at a lovely novelty bookshop. He invited me for 3 cups of tea amidst the fact that I barely had time for feeding Rocco food during the times of war. Rocco I miss you. Greg is a humanitarian. A philanthropist. A being far from human for his spirituality is beyond words no doubt i.e“I looked out the patio door a moment later and saw Greg, standing barefoot in the snow, scooping up the fish with a shovel, and flipping it, like that was the most normal thing in the world. And I guess, to him, it was. That’s when I realized that he’s just not one of us. He’s his own species.” Lila Bishop (3 cups of tea).

Greg has assured faith in that, at numerous challenges come possibility and opportunity.  Although he may not reached his boyish dream reaching K2, then came the moment he reached Korphe where building a school was far more fulfilling. He succeeds because of his failures and not in spite of them. Leadership lesson number one, no? Community development through education. Leadership is rife here too, seeking in the depths of fundamental basic human rights amidst the politics. “Tell me about it.…”

A leader who wishes to educate, to inform, to rightfully bless upon thee with clarity and lessons for life is a true role model.  Proactive change in society should be through education. At the grass roots level of sustainable development. Education institutes breed and manufacture thought leaders for change. You teach me, and I shall teach the other what I have learnt for them to practically act upon or effect change by being informed. Sometimes the ill-educated need guidance. As seen in the forms of Jahan and Shakeela from 3 cups of tea who bring about immediate change in their community thanks to their education.  And not only education, education for girls in an (extremist) orthodox Arabic community nog al. Away from the truths of patriarchy and terror. Promoting equality and peace. That violence is not the answer to poverty. For if it was not for Education, for Greg’s vision, would that community be less developed? A good friend of mine had said that change is revolutionary. Fair enough. A change in my mind-set of my predisposed ideas could affect revolutionary change from the leadership that served the people. Understanding through a series of hardship.

Now imagine a westerner dealing with the cultural differences of Pakistan. Dealing is the wrong word. He embraced in the cultural differences. Let’s not forget that Greg grew up in Africa. His humility that was born from Africa aided in his successful Pakistani story too for he knew how to get to a grass-roots understanding of people by being at one with them- as his equal. Another great leadership quality therefore would be not only to lead, but to embrace indifference to those who are equal to you. Building bridges between cultures. Actively participating in the cultural aspect of globalisation as sustainable growth and development.

A leader in Greg’s case was encompassed by a level of self-sacrifice. Financially, personally, emotionally and physically he sacrificed many parts of his whole in order to root for schools to be built.  Blind faith, as they call it. Faith with arms, and not eyes.

I now invite you for 3 cups of tea.

The first cup to welcome you and make you feel comfortable with me and my ideas. The second cup because you are my guest of honour and the third cup, well then because by then you are my family. It’s a simple yet meaningful tradition to have 3 cups of tea. By taking all this time, we build foundations for lasting relationships. By investing in schools, we build foundations for may a great leader to inspire, to respect, to trust in the true fundamentals of the human condition. By our third cup of tea and reflection, your role model still has nothing on mine ;p Building solid schools from stones. Think about it.

Africa needs many a Greg Mortenson.

Hasta luego amigos!



Leave a Reply.